Skip to content
June 19, 2010 / ballerina2thepointe

Hello world!

I never imagined that I’d become a blogger. What could blogging possibly have to do with a dancer’s world? As it turns out, A LOT. I’ve been quite the reluctant one in accepting and conforming to the technological advances that society has made over the last few years ( I STILL don’t have an iPhone ), but it has become clear to me that if I have something important to say, this is the best way to be heard.

I’ve just begun my sixteenth season dancing with the Miami City Ballet, and I couldn’t feel more excited. It’s the company’s 25th Anniversary season, and there are so many great ballets in store for us all this year. Some old favorites of mine, like  Balanchine’s Bugaku and La Sonnambula, as well a bunch of exciting new ones. The one that I’m most looking forward to is John Cranko’s Romeo and Juliet. Juliet is a role that I’ve been waiting my entire life to dance, and I am certain that it will be an unforgettable experience, a mile marker in my career.

I am also about to begin my sixth summer as a teacher for the Miami City Ballet School Summer Intensive. The past few years of teaching, plus my love of the students, and my joy of writing, have inspired me to write a book entitled “So, You Want to Be a Ballet Dancer?”, which should be published electronically very soon. In the book, I talk about all the things aspiring dancer’s need to know, but are rarely taught…handling the auditioning process, stress, dietary habits, stage makeup, injury prevention, stage layout and backstage etiquette, etc. I find it extremely important for young dancer’s to hear the good, the bad, and all of the “in’s and out’s” from someone who is successfully handling the daily issues that dancer’s face today.

I hope that this blog will serve as a supplement to my book, a place where I can post weekly updates about professional issues that I am facing, as well as a place where young dancers (or anyone) can make comment, add their own advice, or ask questions about handling whatever obstacles they are encountering.

I look forward to starting a whole new wave of communication throughout the ballet world, and I hope that all of you aspiring dancers, teachers, parents, and balletomanes out there will join me on my continuing  journey as a Principal Dancer in one of America’s most respected ballet companies, where I am still growing, learning, inspired by things on a regular basis!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Bob Mooney / Jun 28 2010 2:13 am

    Hi Jennifer,
    Congratulations, I have you added to my RSS reader so I won’t miss any posts.

    Bob

  2. gwen / Jun 28 2010 11:50 am

    Congratulations Jennifer!

Leave a Reply

